join donate discuss

Peter Cranie expresses disappointment with MPs who voted against equal marriage

North West Green Party Euro Candidate Peter Cranie has expressed his disappointment with the 18 MPs in the North West Region who voted against the principle of equal marriage this week.
“The fact that one quarter of our MPs voted against a basic equality being extended to all people, supported by leaders of every political party in Parliament in England, Scotland and Wales, shows a basic lack of understanding of equality issues.”

The Green Party is delighted that Caroline Lucas MP voted in favour of the bill and spoke strongly in the debate to question the fact that the Church of England will not be permitted to conduct gay marriage ceremonies.

“I very much hope that LGBTIQ voters in constituencies where MPs voted against this bill, should make clear that they will not be voting to re-elect them in 2015.


Labour MPs who voted against:
Joe Benton (Bootle)
Rosie Cooper (Lancashire West)
David Crausby (Bolton North East)
Tony Cunningham (Workington),
Jim Dobbin (Heywood & Middleton)
Paul Goggins (Wythenshawe & Sale East)
Derek Twigg (Halton)

Liberal Democrat MPs voting against:
Gordon Birtwistle (Burnley)
John Pugh (Southport)

Conservative MPs voting against:
Graham Brady (Altrincham & Sale West)
Esther McVey (Wirral West)
Paul Maynard (Blackpool North & Cleveleys)
David Morris (Morecambe & Lunesdale)
David Nuttall (Bury North)
Ben Wallace (Wyre & Preston North)
David Rutley (Macclesfield)
John Stevenson (Carlisle)
Ben Wallace (Wyre & Preston North)